Blog for mental health 2013

I just came across the Blog For Mental Health 2013 movement and would like to support it. 

To do so, all I have to do is to follow 4 steps:

1.) Take the pledge by copying and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2013″.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2.) Link back to the person who pledged you.

This post on http://alexisstone55.wordpress.com caught my attention: http://wp.me/p2Jomn-2Z 

3.) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.

I’m in my 20s. I’ve been feeling lonely, hopeless, frustrated, angry, pathetic, weird, useless, unloved, incompetent and misunderstood since I’ve been around 14. Alcohol and self-harm became my outlets for some years, but when I was around 20, my auto-agression and self-destructive behaviour were replaced by episodes of absolute despair, apathy, and emptiness.

In January this year I finally manages to seek professional help! I’ve been diagnosed with recurrent depression and a mixed personality disorder (emotionally unstable/histrionic/dysthymic). I’m currently on medication, seeing my therapist twice a week, and have been advised by my psychiatrist to go to mental health rehab (which I’ve decided to do). 

4.) Pledge five others, and be sure to let them know!

Since I’ve only just started my blog, I can’t pledge any bloggers. But anyone who reads this is welcome to support the project! 

One thought on “Blog for mental health 2013

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your story, and for making your pledge. If your readers do want to know more about the campaign, they can find all the information here: Blog For Mental Health 2013 | A Canvas Of The Minds.

    I’m sorry I’ve taken a bit to get back to you and share your post through our social media (as well as add you to the blogroll, of course!), but I’m so glad you’re finding the wonderful, supportive community that exists in mental health blogging. I encourage you to keep reaching out — I have made (and met) some wonderful, amazingly supportive friends through my blogging journey who have helped me toward wellness.

    All the very best to you!

I'd like to hear what you think about it

